Welcome to my life.

So here it is, my first blog post…ever. Why a blog? Well, my life has changed so much in the past few years and there is so much information I have learned that I needed a place to put it all. 

I am a 35 year old mother of 3, teacher of 25 (and growing, this year) and wife to one terrific husband. A year and a half ago, while doing my annual summer ritual of beginning each vacation with lofty exercising goals, I injured my knees. They were feeling very swollen, deep inside. After undergoing months of physical therapy, x-rays, MRIs, disease testing, cortisone shots and orthodics, they were still not improving. I started going to a chiropractor and massage therapist, in hopes of any possible relief I could find.

Around this same time, I began researching more healthy ways of eating for my family. One of my children had some medical issues and I was told that diet changes  could possibly benefit his conditions. I read several books which discussed the dangers of food additives, dyes, artificial sweeteners, GMOs and cost vs. benefit of animal products. I read about vitamin supplementation, juicing vs. smoothies, raw and organic.  I read so much that it all started to become very overwhelming. 

I decided that I needed to start with me. I started to cut out my 1 a day soda routine and began focusing on eating fruits and vegetables. We bought a juicer and made juice and smoothies nearly every day. The kids loved them (well, not all the green ones) and thought they were a dessert. This all helped me lose a little weight, but my knees were still not improving. What I did notice, however, was that the chronic headaches I had been experiencing for the past 3 years were mostly gone. I was now only getting them occasionally, and I finally tied them to gluten. Since I have discovered my apparent gluten allergy, I have only been tripped up a handful of times, twice eating out and once when I dove into a new flavor of rice crackers without reading the ingredients label first.

As for my son, we completed allergy testing and discovered he was NOT allergic to gluten (Thank goodness!), but he WAS allergic to egg, dairy, soy and a few other random foods. Now, not only do I have to avoid wheat while making family meals, but all of those things as well?

So this is our new life…one of home-cooked meals and snacks out of necessity and not enough time in our days, with homework, kids’ sports and house keeping, etc. How can I prepare everything from scratch? How do I begin to heal my knees and strengthen my body? AND… have enough hours remaining to sleep and have a life? 

My hope is that I can share my trials and triumphs with you all, along with some great, healthy recipes for families. I also want to hear from you…What do you do to help your family get healthy?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome to my life.

  1. This is a wonderful idea, Jasmine….I look forward to the recipes and ideas you will be sharing, so I can share them with friends as well…..so many people are allergic to the same things you and your son are, so I know this can help them have a healthier life too.

Leave a Reply

