Summer….and cookies!

IMG_6976

Relaxing by the fire on vacation

Ahhh, the life of a teacher! Work a few months and then relax all summer long, sipping lemonade by the pool, right? Not really. I love my summers, but have always been so ready to get back to work by the end. Then this year, I got a crazy idea that I could tutor part-time during the summer, but still have enough time off to enjoy myself, along with my three kids….What was I thinking????

So… it has been a long time since I was able to post and a loooong time since I have been able to focus on new recipes and share them with others. I have spent my summer rushing from tutoring – to the store – to planning or packing for a mini-vacation – to doing a few things with my kiddos – to looking at my incredibly messy house and longing for a magical housekeeping fairy…. it is time to get back into the kitchen!

IMG_6889

Watching the Chief Joseph Days parade in front of the beautiful Wallowa Mountains

Last week we took a trip home (to Wallowa County) and I wanted to make some cookies for the trip. I found a recipe, but of course I didn’t have all of the gluten-free flours listed, so I had to improvise. I ended up with delicious vegan, gluten-free cookies that even my “I can’t believe that you would eat anything vegan” cousins loved! My husband said that I should have told them that they were vegan at the beginning and they wouldn’t have even tried them 🙂

Fast forward to Thursday evening     , when I decided that I really wanted some warm cookies after a corn chowder dinner. I wrote down the recipe as I remembered it, changing the flours and guessing on measurements. Scientific, no. But it’s the best I could do. Everything was going fine until I tried to roll them into balls to put on the pan. The dough looked oily..I mean really oily. I figured that I might as well try to bake them, though I had little hope that they would be edible.

Guess what? They turned out perfectly! They were more moist than the first time and didn’t seem oily at all. I even tested one out in almond milk….and it was like heaven on earth. Oh, I hope you like them as much as we did!IMG_7026

Vegan Deliciousness Cookie Dough Recipe

Mix together dry ingredients in medium bowl (then set aside):

1 c. coconut flour

1/2 c. brown rice flour

1/2 c. teff flour

1/3 c. tapioca starch

1 tsp. xanthum gum

1 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. baking soda

In mixer, combine:

1 c. light brown sugar

1/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. melted coconut oil

flax gel (1 tbsp. flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp. warm water, set for 5 min.)

2 tbsp.warm water

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

IMG_7021

Add dry ingredients a little at a time with mixer on low speed, just until combined.

***Stir in 1/2 c. of anything you want (nuts, chocolate chips, raisins)

***Roll the balls in sugar/cinnamon mixture (My FAVORITE)

***OR leave them just like this… you decide.

IMG_7022

Make small balls of dough (don’t worry about the obvious coconut oil in the dough, it will bake perfectly) and place on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper, pressing them down a bit with your hand.

IMG_7032

Bake @ 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes. The dough will be soft and will develop a crispy shell as it cools.

IMG_7039

Makes about 2 dozen, depending on how much dough you eat first 🙂

Leave a Reply

