I Love(d) Cooking!

Aaaah….I am finally here! The first week of no kids’ sports of the school year….with 3 kids and 5 extra-curricular activities between them, I had not been feeling very motivated to get back into the kitchen. After all, there is nothing out there that will kill a good hobby as much as forcing a person to do it…under pressure….on a budget…with limited time….and multiple allergies!

Then, I spent a couple of hours this past weekend scouring old recipes and dreaming of the goodies that I have not had time to bake over the past several months. As my mouth began to water, I felt that old feeling starting to rekindle….my inclination to bake was back!

Since I had only been baking with pumpkin the past month and a half, I didn’t want to use that. I found a few recipes that included apples, another seasonal favorite of the Fall. Since we had family over for the weekend, I thought we could have muffins for breakfast: simple, but warm and scrumptious…

What began as an apple-cinnamon muffin recipe, turned into a most glorious deliciousness when, low and behold, Pumpkin came back to join the party… All who ate them loved them, and I hope you will too!

One problem: We ate them so quickly that I have yet to add a picture to this post. I promise to update it as soon as I make them again, which I’m sure will be very soon!

Gluten Free Pumpkin Apple Cinnamon Muffins/Bread

Whisk together dry ingredients:

1 c. brown rice flour

3/4 c. almond flour

3/4 c. coconut flour

1/2 c. tapioca flour

2 tsp. xanthum glum

3 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

2 tsp. cinnamon

In a separate bowl, mix together:

2/3 c. melted coconut oil

2 c. pureed pumpkin

3/4 c. apple juice (freshly juiced, if available)

1 1/4 c. brown sugar

4 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs (or 4 tbsp. flaxmeal mixed with 1 c. warm water – set for 5 min.)

Carefully stir in:

1/2 c. chopped pecans

2-3 c. peeled, chopped apples (depending on how apple-y you like it)

Scoop 1/4 c. into each paper muffin cups in pan (makes about 3 dozen muffins) – OR – pour into 2 greased loaf pans.

Bake at 350 degrees: 30-40 minutes for muffins, 40-50 minutes for loaves.

Allow to cool for 10-15 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

