A Juice Cleanse and Chocolate Makes a Comeback!

The holidays are finally over and everyone is getting super fit and healthy…right? Well, even though I don’t normally make resolutions, January is usually a time of getting back on track with my health and fitness. This year during our holiday travels, I had a major allergic reaction after a visit to Starbucks (regular milk is NOT the same as soy milk, Miss Barista!), which left me feeling horrible. 

I follow Drew Canole of fitlife.tv on facebook and he has a free 5-day juicing cleanse called the Alpha Reset. I decided to try to get my body back on track and embarked on the cleanse. Wow, what a difference that made! I was honestly not hungry for the first 3 days, but once the 4th day hit and I was back to work full time, I was ready to start eating again, which is what the protocol recommends anyway. Over that time, I was able to get rid of the foggy brain and sinus congestion I had been experiencing, as well as lose a few pounds of holiday bloat. I will definitely continue with one juice a day to keep my energy up. If you have ever considered doing a cleanse, I would highly recommend this one!

Now……Chocolate!

Since I stopped eating dairy about 9 months ago, I had gotten over missing cheese, but I really missed chocolate. Not that I ate a lot of chocolate, mind you, but every once in awhile I really wanted to have a small piece! Well, over the holidays I found a few recipes for dairy-free chocolate and had to try them. Here is the best, most healthy recipe:

Homemade Dairy-Free Chocolate Bar

Melt and mix together over low heat:

1/4 c. cacoa powder

1/4 c. coconut oil 

Remove from heat and stir in:

1 tbsp. raw honey

Mix well and pour into a bread pan lined with parchment paper. Freeze until solid. The bar that is formed can be chopped into pieces to use as chocolate chips in your favorite recipes (see below) or broken up and eaten at your leisure 🙂 

*Being made with coconut oil, the bar will begin to melt at 75 degrees. Best to keep in the freezer until you are ready to use.

Best “Grain Free” Chocolate Chip Cookies!!!

I recently discovered the blog by Danielle Walker called Against All Grain. She has an amazing grain-free blog and cookbook of the same name that I would highly recommend. Her recipe for Real-Deal Chocolate Chip Cookies will make a believer out of any skeptic! Exceptional!

Image

Real-Deal Chocolate Chip Cookies….delish!

2 thoughts on “A Juice Cleanse and Chocolate Makes a Comeback!

Leave a Reply

