The Journey Continues

Life is a journey…I know it’s a cliche, but it really is true. Just talk to anyone (over 30 anyway), and they can tell you that there is some aspect of their life that did not go according to plan. But the funny thing is…things usually work themselves out somehow. Out of complete disaster, new beginnings can occur.

I will be the first to admit that two years ago, our family was dealing with some pretty heavy issues. Our son was going through testing to try to figure out what was causing his intense behavior issues. At that time, I felt like a failure as a mother. I was a teacher, had a Masters’ degree in Education, and yet I had no idea how to “make him behave”. Through this journey we discovered his high anxiety and extreme allergies. We also got to finally discover the sweet little boy that we knew was hidden behind all of the anger. But that is a long story for another day…

Discovering my son’s and my allergies was a first step, but it has been a long road. I have spent countless hours reading and researching diets, vitamins, minerals and doctors. I have tried out several eating styles and philosophies, much to the dismay of the rest of my family, at times. 🙂 But each new book or webinar led us to where we are today, eating much healthier and feeling more grateful and happy than we ever have.

During this transformation, I have become fascinated by the human body and the power of foods in healing. As it has turned into something I am passionate about,  I have had many friends and family members talk to me about healthy foods and ask for advice regarding this or that.

This past winter, I came upon an online school called the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. Everything that had resonated with me to this point, has been captured by this school: the healing nature of foods, the role of stress in disease, the need for a change in the way we live our lives. They emphasize physical activity, which is obvious, but also quality relationships in your life, career happiness and spirituality… things that I knew were important, but hadn’t exactly been a part of what I thought of when I thought of ‘healthy life’.

After some serious contemplation and long discussions with my husband, I decided to enroll in their program to become a Health Coach. The program is all conducted online and requires 5-10 hours of work per week, do-able for a full-time teacher and mom. Will it be crazy busy sometimes? Of course…but I am pretty familiar with that, so it’s all good. 🙂

What’s next? I don’t know. Life is a journey, so I’m not going to try to predict how this will all work out. What I do know is that I am pursuing a passion that makes me feel fulfilled and will help me and those I love. And??? I can start seeing clients by December, so if you know of anyone ready for a journey of their own, refer them to me!  🙂

keep calm and call your health coach

Leave a Reply

