Love …for Against All Grain

We celebrated my daughter’s 7th birthday this weekend. She LOVES S’mores and wanted to make them for her slumber party, and then I found this post from The Daily Nutritionist. Since I LOVE Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain blog and cookbook, it was a perfect match!

The layers are made by doubling Danielle’s Honey Graham Cracker Pie Crust, which I then pressed into the bottom of 2 round cake pans (I would use 9 inch next time, as mine turned out a bit too thick). Then I made her Chocolate Layer Cake, which is not on her blog, sorry! I’m sure you could substitute another chocolate cake recipe that works for you, though her recipe is divine…. Make sure to make all the rounds the same size, too 🙂 The frosting is called Italian Meringue Frosting, which you can find here listed as the frosting in her delectable Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes, just don’t add the strawberries. If you want to substitute with a different frosting, remember you are trying to mimic marshmallows, so you want something light and airy. For our cake, I think I should have doubled the frosting recipe, as the cake soaks up quite a bit of it pretty quickly and so the cake felt a bit dry.

If you decide to make it, let me know how it turns out! My guess is that it won’t last long in your house either! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

