My Adventures in Meditation

lily and lilypad

Do you love Oprah? To me, she’s like a wise friend that moved away that I only hear from once or twice a year. After all, I grew up watching her evolve her show into something powerful. Since we do not have cable (nearly everything we watch is on Netflix), I do not have the luxury of keeping up with her on her OWN channel, but she pops up every now and again on my Facebook feed or through an email. Lately she has been coming to me with with her good friend, Deepak Chopra, bringing me free meditation journeys. In April, I took her up on her offer and the result was life-changing…

Why meditate? According to Wikipedia:

“The term meditation refers to a broad variety of practices … designed to promote relaxation, build internal energy or life force (qikiprana, etc.) and develop compassion, love, patience, generosity and forgiveness. A particularly ambitious form of meditation aims at effortlessly sustained single-pointed concentration single-pointed analysis, meant to enable its practitioner to enjoy an indestructible sense of well-being while engaging in any life activity.”

Recently there was research published that showed the long term benefits of meditating on anxiety, depression, and physical pain, even after only a few weeks.

Are praying and meditating the same? Are they in opposition to one another? Oprah and Deepak talk about the difference between them.

To me, trying to meditate for the first time was pretty much exactly like Julia Roberts attempting it in the Eat, Pray, Love movie (based on the book by Elizabeth Gilbert). The time seemed to go by so slowly and I was thinking about all sorts of things instead of trying to empty my mind and focus solely on the thought of the day. By the end of the 21 days, however, I felt amazing. I was more calm and had greater focus during the day. Things didn’t ‘get to me’ as easily as before. Words of caution: Don’t expect perfection…it’s called a meditation practice for a reason. You have to try it for a while before you will get the full benefit. Meditating and calming the racing thoughts in your mind at the beginning of each day is a gift to yourself.

Have you tried meditating? Oprah and Deepak are back with another free 21-day meditation series that will begin August 11th, called “Expanding your Happiness” and would be a perfect way to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

