Getting Over It and Pumpkin Spice Creamer! (Month Four at Integrative Nutrition)

juggling it all

Have you ever felt like you were not enough? Everybody wanting something from you and you couldn’t possibly meet everyone’s expectations?

Was it the Women’s Revolution that brought about this situation? Women used to have their ‘place’ in the home. Now, anyone who know’s me knows that I don’t agree with that one bit…but there was a focus, and women could keep the home as they deemed fit and that was their expertise. When women truly entered the workforce, did their jobs in the home end? No, they were expected to manage both! Today, men of our era certainly do much more in the home than men did 50 years ago, but most women still feel it is their job to maintain the home and provide food, clean laundry, etc.

I have been talking with women all over the world the past few months during my work as a student at Integrative Nutrition, and that theme is present everywhere. I have always wanted to be the best mom, wife, sister, daughter, employee…and the list goes on and on! When I feel overwhelmed, it is very easy for me to feel I can’t do it and to seek comfort in food, alcohol or exercise….yes, exercise! Even that has become a place that I can land and I am always applauded for making a “healthy” choice in dealing with my stress. The problem is, if I am still experiencing a great deal of stress and have no idea how to effectively deal with it in the moment, is that really “dealing with it”?

How do we as women solve this daily problem? I believe the answer is to let it go (enter the theme song from Disney’s Frozen movie…) 🙂 Seriously, life is a journey, not a destination! Is there ever going to be a day when we say to ourselves “Well, I made it! I am now the perfect wife, mother, etc.!” No!!! We may have our moments when we feel that we are managing it all well, but something is sure to change that. Today, I might feel that I am excelling at work, but then I’ll come home to find that I forgot to buy eggs… Life happens! Get over it! Accept that at any given moment, you are doing the best you can and don’t worry so much. You can always run out and get the eggs after you fold the laundry 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Creamer

Since it’s Fall and everywhere you look, you see people holding a Starbucks cup, I thought I’d pass on my Pumpkin Spice Creamer recipe. You can add to coffee or drink by itself as a warm, comforting cup of Fall!

Pumpkin creamer ingredients

Ingredients:

3/4 c. pumpkin puree (not pie filling)

3 c. coconut milk (or other milk of choice)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. each of: pumpkin pie spice, turmeric, cinnamon

*Add all ingredients to a quart glass jar. Put on lid and shake to mix. Store in refrigerator.

pumpkin creamer jar

Leave a Reply

